Tags

, , , ,

glutenfreerhubarbbuns1_web

Although I’m not gluten intolerant, I know a couple of people who are – and having tasted some of the coeliac friendly foods on the shelf, I find them so tasteless and disappointing.
I haven’t tasted a bread or a sponge cake yet that satisfactorily replaces the light, springy fluffiness that you get from conventional flour.
Always up for a challenge, I loaded my basket with xantham gum and a mixture of coeliac friendly flours.

I’ve made a few cakes, which taste great made with ground almonds (generally moist and squidgy, but that’s not a negative in my opinion!).  I’ve tried the ‘mashed potato’ based cake (yuk!) and I’ve had limited success with spelt bread (nice crusty loaf, but heavy and chewy).

glutenfreerhubarbbuns2_webI thought I’d give teacakes a go.  Still on my rhubarb phase, I thought this might make pleasant change from raisins/sultanas.

The result was a good looking tasty teacake.  Still not as light as your normal teacake, but served up toasted and buttered as a bite sized treat with a cup of tea, I’d deem this one a success.

It’s quite a sticky dough, so it’s best to use a mixer if you have one.  If not, you can still do it by hand, it will just be a little messy.

Do you have a great gluten free bread recipe? Let me know and I’ll give it a go.

Gluten free rhubarb teacakes (makes 8-10 small teacakes):
Ingredients:

  • 100g rhubarb, washed and chopped into 1cm chunks
  • 70g golden caster sugar
  • 200g gluten free flour mix (I used Doves farm)
  • ½ tsp xantham gum
  • 5g salt
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • 25g unsalted butter, softened and cut into chunks
  • 10g fresh yeast mixed with a couple of tablespoons of tepid water (or use 7g dried active yeast, but add another 20ml milk to the 100ml listed above)
  • 100ml milk

Method:

  1. First you need to draw some of the moisture out of the rhubarb.  Put the rhubarb in a bowl and sprinkle 25g of the sugar on.  Leave uncovered on the side.
  2. In the mixer add the flour, xantham gum, salt, cinnamon, butter and remaining sugar.  Give it a quick mix, then add in the yeast and 2/3rds of the milk.  Mix together and slowly add in more milk until you get a soft, slightly sticky dough.  You may not need to use all the milk.  Mix the dough on the medium setting of your mixer, using the dough hook, for about 5 mins (if doing by hand, put a little olive oil on your work surface and hands, and knead the dough for about 6 or 7 minutes).
  3. Tip the dough into a large oiled bowl and cover with clingfilm.  Leave to prove in a warm place for about 90 minutes.  It will rise a little in this time, but won’t rise as much as normal bread.
  4. Once the dough has proved, get your rhubarb and give it a gentle pat down with a paper towel to remove the excess moisture, then add it to the dough and mix it in gently.  With a little bit of olive oil on your hands, form the dough into 8-10 small balls.  Place them on a baking tray lined with baking parchment and squash the balls down a little.  Brush with a little bit of milk and place the baking stray into a large carrier bag and let the dough prove for another hour.
  5. Preheat the oven to 200c, and once the dough has finished proving (it won’t have risen very much) put in the oven and cook for 15 minutes.
  6. Take out of the oven and leave to cool before cutting in half, toasting and spreading with butter.