Tags

, , ,

rhubarbbakewellpudding1_web

The second instalment of my rhubarb experimentation!
After my husband’s comment that I haven’t made any puddings (just cakes) for my blog so far, I thought I’d better get on the case!
I was tempted to go for rhubarb crumble, but I fancied more of a challenge.  So I came up with this rhubarb and almond pudding.  It’s a tasty, squidgy pud, that’s made without flour.  The tartness of the rhubarb complements the sweetness of the sponge nicely.
If you want a firmer sponge then I’d suggest swapping 50g of the ground almonds for 50g of self raising flour when making the almond mixture.

rhubarbbakewellpudding2_web

Rhubarb and Almond Pudding (Serves 6):
Ingredients:

  • 400g rhubarb, washed and chopped into 1 inch chunks
  • 300g golden caster sugar
  • 200g ground almonds
  • 200g unsalted butter, softened
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt
  • 50g toasted flaked almonds
  • Cream/crème fraiche or ice cream to serve

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180c and place the rhubarb in a large dish (approx. 18x25cm).  Sprinkle 100g of the sugar over the rhubarb and put to one side
  2. In a large bowl, whisk the ground almonds, butter, the other 200g of sugar, eggs, vanilla extract and salt to a thick paste.  Spread this mixture over the rhubarb and then sprinkle the chopped almonds over the top.  Place in the oven and cook for 40-45 minutes – until the top looks nicely browned.
  3. Take out of the oven and leave to cool for a couple of minutes before serving.  Serve with nice with a dollop of cream, crème fraiche or ice cream.